Top 5 Blue Jays Ever

Congrats to one of my idols growing up, Robbie Alomar, on being inducted to the Hall of Fame today. Also congrats to the man that brought him to Toronto, Pat Gillick, on also being inducted.

Alomar has to be the best Blue Jay ever, but this got me thinking of a top 5 list. There’s been a bunch of superstars on the Blue Jays over the years and some other Hall of Famers too.

However, I wanted to choose a list of Jays who played more than just 2 or 3 years for the Jays. It was actually really tough to pick a top 5.

So without further stalling, here is my list. 

1) Roberto Alomar

Without a doubt the best to ever wear a Blue Jays uni. The best fielding 2nd baseman I’ve ever seen, when I was a kid I’d always try and copy his nutty off balance jump throws.

His stats and accolades are insane:

– 10 Gold Gloves (including all 5 years he was a Jay)

Photo from Mopupduty.com

– 12 time All-Star

– 4 Silver Sluggers

– Career .300 hitter

I could go on forever, but maybe the moment that stands out the most for me and probably for most Blue Jays fans is his HR off Dennis Eckersley in game 4 of the 92 ALCS.

A defining moment for not just him, but for the entire franchise

2) Roy Halladay

Roy Halladay

Image via Wikipedia

Probably my favourite Jay of all-time. I was a pitcher when I played so I have a soft spot for pitchers and Doc is by far the best Jay pitcher ever.

A Cy Young in both leagues, a perfect game, a no-no in his 1st ever post season start, just insane.

3) Carlos Delgado

This guy was a beast, with the Jays from 1996 to 2004 he hit 30 or more HR’s in every year except for 1 where he hit 25.

Photo from Mopupduty.com

His 2003 season with the Jays was just sick 42 jacks, 145 RBI, 117 runs, 109 walks, .302 avg.

He finished his career with 473 dingers, 1512 RBI’s and a .280 career average.

4) Fred McGriff

The Crime Dog was a model of consistency. He hit 30 bombs or more in 11 out of 19 seasons. With the Jays he hit 125 home runs in 4 full seasons. He finished just 7 homers shy of the exclusive 500 HR club.

Photo from fredeeky.typepad.com

5) Tony Fernandez

Just like Alomar, Fernandez had ridiculous defensive skill. He would make plays deep in the hole look like nothing and his throws to first seemed effortless, just a little underhand flick of the wrist.

He wasn’t just all glove though, he could hit too and he was a key player in the 1993 world series where he had 9 RBI in the series.

Photo from mopupduty.com

Honorable Mention:

A bunch of guys could have easily made the above list, here’s just a few: Joe Carter, Dave Stieb, George Bell (if it was a top 6 list he’d be my #6), Tom Henke, Duane Ward, David Wells, Devon White, John Olerud.

What does your top 5 Blue Jay list look like?

Disagree with any of my choices?