Sal’s Week 3 Predictions

Last week: 8-6-2

Overall: 15-13-1

Last week was a pretty good week breaking .500. Lets keep up the momentum and do better this week. Onto the picks.

Photo via upperplayground.com

San Fran at Cincy -1.5

Pick: Bengals -1.5, do I have to have an opinion on this one? These are 2 awful teams, but at least the Bengals have some resemblance of an offence and they’re at home so I’ll give it to them…reluctantly.

Jacksonville at Carolina -3.5

Pick: Panthers -3.5, yeah I’m now a registered on the Cam Newton bandwagon. This is not a confident pick because I just know Jacksonville will do the smart thing and just give the ball to MJD all day. If he gets hot against the Panthers 26th ranked D then look out. However, in the end I think the Panthers balance out their attack this week and match the Jags in the rushing dept. with their now 3 headed rushing attack (Williams, Stewart and Newton) and give Newton his first NFL win.

Detroit -3.5 at Minnesota

Pick: Vikings +3.5, Detroit is the sexy team so far in the league, with their video game like offence and their stout D. However, this is a divisional rivalry game and Minnesota is desperado styles being 0-2 already. The Vikes have been close in their 2 losses and I think they finally get ‘er done at home and bring the Lions a little bit back to earth.

Denver at Tennessee -7

Pick: Broncos +7, I think this line is a little inflated due to the Titans upset win last week over the Ravens. This is still a team that lost to Jacksonville in week 1. I think the Titans still win, but in a squeaker.

Miami at Cleveland -1.5

Pick: Dolphins +1.5, The Dolphins are 0-2, but they’ve been competitive in both those losses to upper tier teams. Cleveland is not an upper tier team, especially on defence. I see the desperate Dolphins surprising the Browns in this one.

NYG at Philly -9.5

Pick: Giants +9.5, This line is going bananas, it’s up from -7 probably due to the fact that Vick has confirmed he is now playing. I still think the Eagles win because the G’men are banged up on both sides of the ball and Eli will likely throw 2-3 picks against the Eagles tough secondary. However, -9.5 is a lot to give especially in a division rivalry game, the G’men won’t go down without a fight in this one.

Houston at New Orleans -4

Pick: Saints -4, I backed the Texans last week on the road, but they’re in tough this week. The Saints are one of a few teams that can match and maybe even outpace the Texans on offence. The Texans D has looked much improved so far, but that was against the Colts and the Dolphins. Drew Brees and his entourage of receivers go bonkers and hand the Texans their first loss of the season.

New England -7.5 at Buffalo

Pick: Bills +7.5, This is an insane pick I know. I believe the Pats have beat the Bills 15 straight times. I don’t have any analysis or reasoning for this pick other than just a feeling that the Bills will scrap it out and keep this one within a TD.

KC at San Diego -14.5

Pick: Chargers -14.5, This is similar to last week with Pittsburgh against Seattle. I think I still would go Chargers if the line was -22. San Diego is back home after a disappointing measuring stick loss to the Pats and will take out all their frustration on a reeling Chiefs team that is probably already thinking of next year.

Baltimore  -4 at St. Louis

Pick: Ravens -4, I love taking home dogs, but I just can’t pull the trigger on the Rams this week. I would be more likely to take the Rams if the Ravens were coming off a win, but they are coming off an upset loss to the Titans. I think the Ravens get back on track in this one with Ray Rice destroying my fantasy team this week with a huge game.

NYJ -3 at Oakland

Pick: Raiders +3, Tough travel game for the Jets in this one. The Raiders will be jacked for their home opener and will come out like gangbusters after losing a heart breaker in Buffalo last week. I see multiple INT’s on both sides and this will come down to the ground games and the Raiders will pound away with McFadden and take this one home.

Atlanta at Tampa Bay -1

Pick: Bucs -1, The penultimate of let down situations is here with the Falcons coming off an emotional win over their former poster boy Mike Vick. This would be my pick of the week…good night

Arizona -3.5 at Seattle

Pick: Seahawks +3.5, The Seahawks are likely the worst team in the league, but they have one of if not the loudest stadium in the league. If there was ever a chance for the Hawks to win this year, this would be it. Arizona’s defence is terrible so Tavaris Jackson might actually have a serviceable game this week. An ugly game that I’ll definitely not be watching.

Green Bay -4 at Chicago

Pick: Bears +4, The Bears were…actually no…Jay Cutler was destroyed last week by the Saints. The Packers on the other hand had a tougher time then most expected against the Panthers last week. They also lost one of their key defensive players in Nick Collins for the rest of the year. A rivalry game to end all rivalry games, I’ll take the home dawg every time in this matchup.

Pittsburgh -11 at Indy

Pick: Colts +11, ugly pick but it’s tough to lay double digits to a road team. That’s my only reasoning here…a hope and a prayer. Steelers still win…I say by 10

Washington at Dallas -4.5

Pick: Washington +4.5, Uggh, I don’t like backing Rex Grossman, but the Cowboys are just so banged up with Austin out, Romo playing with broken ribs, Jones playing with a bum shoulder and Bryant playing at less than 100%. Not my favourite pick of the week that’s for sure.

 

Last week was great for the faves, but I think this week the dawgs will have their day. Good luck to all.