Sal’s Week 6 NFL Picks

Last week: 6-7

Season: 39-34-3

I thought I was going to have another winning week when I started out 6-2 after the early games. However 5 straight losses with the remaining games dropped me below .500 for the week. I also got bounced from my survivor pool when I stubbornly sided with the Giants instead of listening to my gut and choosing the Pack.

Ok, so I may be on a little tilt right now…so fade these picks if you’re smart 🙂

San Fran at Detroit -4

Pick: Lions -4, The Lions seem to win every time I pick against them so lets see how they fare when I’m on their side for the first time this year. The Lions offence looks unstoppable and their defence is even looking stellar (although any d looks stellar against that Bears O-line). San Fran also looks for real after they demolished Tampa last week. Fine, I’m on the wagon of both of these teams now…I’ll give the edge to the home team in this exciting match-up (weird saying that with a Lions and 49’ers game…wow how things change quick in this league). The public is on the Niners by the way…the line was -5.

Indy at Cincy -7

Pick: Colts +7, I just can’t lay 7 points with Cincy. I know the Colts are bad, but are they this bad? I think the Colts win this one outright.

Buffalo at NYG -3

Pick: Giants -3, You’d think I’d be on the Bills after my heartbreak from last week, but I think the G-men bounce back this week after last week’s embarrassment. It’ll be some kind of sick joke by the universe…telling me I should have waited a week to pick the G-men in survivor…no, I swear I’m over it…Ok maybe not.

Philly -1 at Washington

Pick: Eagles -1, So much for my lock of the week last week when I picked the Eagles to beat Buffalo. I’m not going to label this as a lock, but seriously can the Eagles lose another? If last week was desperation mode, I’m not even sure what you can call this week. Heads will roll this week with another loss.

Jacksonville at Pittsburgh -12

Pick: Steelers -12, I think after last weeks big win over the Titans the Steelers will go on a bit of a roll. Big Ben has his mojo back and the defence is tightening. Good night Blaine Gabbert.

St Louis at Green Bay -14.5

Pick: Rams +14.5, I’m hoping for a back door cover here by the lowly Rams. I see the Pack getting up by 28+ early and then take the foot off the gas big time letting the Rams score some garbage points enough to cover the number

Carolina at Atlanta -4

Pick: Falcons -4, I love Cam Newton right now (he’s my fantasy starter), but the Falcons are always tough at home. The Falcons are also coming off a home loss and will be extra motivated this week to make amends.

Houston at Baltimore -9

Pick: Texans +9, The Texans are in tough in this one facing a rested Ravens team coming off a bye week. They will also be without their top WR in Andre Johnson and also their best defender in Mario Williams. However, good teams step up in the face of adversity and I think the Texans are for real and give a big effort this week after their upset home loss to the Raiders last week.

Cleveland at Oakland -7

Pick: Browns +7, Huge emotional win for the Raiders last week. I see a letdown spot here coming back home facing a not so intimidating Browns team. This could be an outright upset.

Dallas at New England -7

Pick: Pats -7, this should be an exciting display of aerial supremacy. Tony Romo has had a week to rest his ailing ribs and it looks like he’ll have his full complement of weapons back for this one. Dallas is stout agains the run so look for Mr. Brady to launch an all out aerial assault. I see Romo throwing a game ending pick 6 to seal it for the Pats in this one.

New Orleans -4.5 at Tampa Bay

Pick: Bucs +4.5, What happened to the Bucs last week? Absolutely destroyed by the Niners, I see the Bucs coming out hard against their division rival. Measuring stick game for the young Bucs, they’ll want this one bad.

Minny at Chicago -3

Pick: Vikings +3, I’m surprised Jay Cutler is still standing at this point. His receivers cannot get open and his line can’t block…not a good combination. The Vikings have a solid pass rush and I see lots of headaches for Mr. Cutler in this one. The Bears d will be furious after being embarrassed by Detroit, but AP is doesn’t care about that…he’ll go beast mode again in this one.

Miami at NYJ -7

Pick: Jets -7, It’s time for the Jets to air the ball out. The ground and pound just isn’t working out. Matt Moore starts for the Dolphins…yikes. Big bounce back game for the Jets after losing to their arch rivals last week. Public is all over the Dolphins as the line was -9 to start.

 

I really like the looks of my picks this week. Good luck to the gamblers out there. For those of you still alive in my survivor pool…I hate you.