Week 8 NFL Picks: Halloween Edition

Last Week: 7-6

Season: 50-47-5

Halloween is my 2nd favourite day of the year, next to Christmas of course. Halloween is on Monday this year, but the majority of the parties will be occurring today. This means most of you will likely miss the early games due to unbearable hangovers. The wife is sick and is trying hard to pass on her illness to me so I don’t think we’ll be able to last very long at all. Anyway, enjoy your shenanigans wherever they are and feel free to blast my picks below.

Jacksonville at Houston -10

Pick: Texans -10, this line is going up and up and up. Jacksonville is coming off a huge upset win against the Ravens last week and the Texans are coming off a huge win against the Titans. Andre Johnson is also back in this game and I see another monster game from the Texans at home in this one.

Arizona at Baltimore -13

Pick: Ravens -13, give me some more chalk baby! The Ravens have to be angry after Monday night’s stinker. Arizona’s defence can’t seem to stop anybody and I think Ray Rice tears them apart. I hope you don’t have Kevin Kolb as your fantasy starter because he is going to get pressured hard all game long.

New Orleans -14 at St. Louis

Pick: Saints -14, I really don’t like this pick, but it doesn’t look like the Rams can cover any number this year. This pick is scary because the Saints are coming off a video game score beat down against the Colts and there has to be some kind of let down after that. However, the Rams just cannot stop anyone and they can’t score even with teams taking their feet off the gas pedal. I wish I had someone on the Saints for fantasy this week.

Miami at NYG -10.5

Pick: Dolphins +10.5, huge spreads this week. Miami hasn’t been playing all that bad the last few weeks and it’s tough to trust the on and off Giants. Ill take the desperate winless team in this one.

Indianapolis at Tennessee -10

Pick: Colts +10, losing 62-7 is ridiculous. Can the Colts bounce back from that loss? I say yes, but they will have to stop the run if they are going to keep this close. Chris Johnson might finally have a huge breakout game this week. There must be some pride in that Colts locker room…right?

Minnesota at Carolina -3

Pick: Panthers -3, battle of rookie QB’s in this one. Ponder looked pretty solid last week for the Vikes and we already know how good Cam Newton has been this season. A tough one to call, but I’ll give it to the home team. Only thing that scares me is AP vs the league’s 29th ranked rushing defence. Yikes…can I change my pick? Forget it, lets just roll with it.

Washington at Buffalo -4.5

Pick: Bills -4.5, this line was 6.5 so the public is on the Redskins in this one. Kind of strange in my opinion, the Bills have been solid all year and the ‘Skins have been struggling. The ‘Skins are a good pass rushing team so I see the Bills feeding Fred Jackson early and often. The Bills will have to stop the ‘Skins power running game, but I don’t have much faith in John Beck and the ‘Skins passing attack sans Santana Moss.

Detroit -3 at Denver

Pick: Broncos +3, I’m all over this Tebow bandwagon. I think I can throw the football better than him, but he seems to be able to pull wins out of nowhere. Looks like Matthew Stafford will be giving it a go, but I think Tebow pulls out another ridiculous 4th quarter comeback for the upset win.

New England -2 at Pittsburgh

Pick: Patriots -2, the game of the week by far. This is shaping up to be an aerial bombathon. The Pats secondary is swiss cheese and the Steelers D is still stout against the run. I’ll take Brady and Belichick coming off a bye almost every time.

Cleveland at San Francisco -8.5

Pick: 49’ers -8.5, the Browns’ passing game is non-existent and running room will be hard to come by against the 49’ers. The Browns barely squeaked by an awful Seahawks team last week and now are facing a much superior team this week. This could get ugly.

Cincinnati -1 at Seattle

Pick: Bengals -1, worst game of the week by far. I have no reason for this pick other than a pure guess.

Dallas at Philadelphia -3

Pick: Eagles -3, Andy Reid and the Eagles are 12-0 all-time after a bye week. The Eagles are slowly coming together and looking like the team everyone expected. Same can be said of the Cowboys. A huge rivalry game, will be fun to watch DeMarcus Ware chase Mike Vick all game long.

San Diego -3 at Kansas City

Pick: Chiefs +3, amazingly this game actually means something. It wasn’t looking pretty for the chiefs just a few weeks ago, but they have somehow turned it all around and have reeled off 3 straight wins. The Chargers are a frustrating team, world beaters one week and miserable another. Arrowhead is still a tough place to play for road teams and I think we may see the Chiefs shock the world and move into a first place tie with the Chargers after a Monday night upset.

Ok, it’s time for me to start getting my costume ready. So have fun tonight and get that Advil and Gatorade ready.