NHL Playoffs Round 1 Predictions

Before I get into my playoff picks I want to take a look back at my regular season predictions. Looks like I picked 13 out of the 16 playoff teams correctly…not sure if that’s anything to brag about, but I’ll take it. I whiffed completely on Florida, picking them to be eastern conference bottom dwellers. I’m sure I wasn’t the only one who didn’t see a division title in the Panthers future.

Alright, now lets get to the fun stuff and start making some predictions.

Western Conference

(1) Vancouver Canucks vs. (8) Los Angeles Kings

Prediction: Canucks in 7

Babble: In typical Canucks fashion they will give their fans plenty of heartache, anger, Lu bashing and bandwagon-abandoning opportunities in round 1. How healthy is Daniel Sedin? Can the Canucks power play start scoring again? Will Lu outplay Quick? This is a scary match up for the Canucks in my opinion. Quick is an elite goalie that could steal a series on his own. The Kings seem to always be involved in one goal games and that means bust out the pepto Canucks fans because those wings and brewskies will not settle well all series. I’m not even going to pretend that it’s not going to happen…you know Schneider will get a game or two in this series…but it will be Lu in net for game 7…RIDE OR DIE KIDS.

(2) St. Louis Blues vs. (7) San Jose Sharks

Prediction: Sharks in 7

Babble: I do not like how the Blues finished the season (4-3-3) while the Sharks got hot at the right time to close out the year (7-3). The Blues have the advantage between the pipes, that’s without a doubt. However, the Sharks have playoff veterans who will test the Blues youngsters all series. The Blues are young…they’ll be back.

(3) Phoenix Coyotes vs. (6) Chicago Blackhawks

Prediction: Blackhawks in 6

Babble: How does Phoenix do it every year? On offence they are lead by an almost 40 year old Ray Whitney and in net they have a 2-team castaway in Mike Smith. Whatever magic potion the coaching staff has got brewing in Phoenix it seems to be working. However, they are up against a dangerous, playoff hardened, all-world skilled Chicago team. The Blackhawks have deficiencies between the pipes, but they have extreme fire power up front and likely the best defensive pairing in Keith and Seabrook.

(4) Nashville Predators vs. (5) Detroit Red Wings

Prediction: Red Wings in 7

Babble: The closest match-up of the 1st round in my opinion. I basically flipped a coin (in my head that is). The predators have the deepest roster they’ve ever had going into this year’s playoffs. If there was ever a year for them to go deep it would be this year…if they only played someone other than Detroit in the first round. The Red Wings are dangerous in all facets of the game and it seems like they put things into cruise control the last 1 to 2 months of the season. The Wings are deadly at home and if they can steal game 1 or 2 in Nashville it’s hova.

Eastern Conference

(1) New York Rangers vs. (8) Ottawa Senators

Prediction: Rangers in 5

Babble: What an amazing season by the Sens. Many picked them to be doormats this year, but they proved all the naysayers wrong. Erik Karlsson had a dream season and will be a lead candidate for the Norris. The Rangers are too deep, too physical for the Sens and they have some bum named Lundqvist between the pipes.

(2) Boston Bruins vs. (7) Washington Capitals

Prediction: Capitals in 7

Babble: My pure hatred for the Bruins aside…the Capitals closed out the season playing extremely well. Ovie looks like he is engaged and ready to play again. I’m thinking one of the combatants in last year’s Stanley Cup final gets bounced in the first round and obviously I’m not picking the Canucks. I’m secretly going to buy an Ovie jersey and put candles around it and worship it nightly…

(3) Florida Panthers vs. (6) New Jersey Devils

Prediction: Devils in 6

Babble: Yes, I’m still not a believer in the Panthers. Show me something cats! I think Marty still has a deep playoff run in his ageing body. The Devils firepower up front will be too much for the young Panthers in my opinion.

(4) Pittsburgh Penguins vs (5) Philadelphia Flyers

Prediction: 700 PIMS and the Penguins in 7

Babble: Yeah, these two teams want to kill each other. I fear for Sidney Crosby’s brain in this series. This will be a fun series to watch, there will be plenty of rough stuff and plenty of goals. A healthy and Crosby and Malkin is just too much…for any team…well for any team in the East that is 🙂

 

 

Corny as F*$K but the song below is for the Canucks Bandwagon…it’s time to bust out those extremely hawt…I mean inappropriate deep Canucks V-necks.