Wifey’s World Cup Picks – Group Stage

The return of the gambling wifey. She doesn’t watch football, heck I don’t watch the beautiful game either…except for the Euro and World Cup. No country allegiances for either of us since Ireland and the Philippines are not playing. Ok enough talk, on to the picks of the teams to survive the Group stage…have to go change a dirty diaper stat.

Group A:

Wifey’s Picks:

Brazil

Croatia

Why Croatia?

I know more Croatians. They would throw poop if I picked someone else.

Sal’s Picks:

Brazil

Mexico

Group B:

Wifey’s Picks:

Chile

Spain

Spain is the obvious choice even for us non-football fans. Why Chile?

“I think you know.”

“Sorry, I know nothing says a red-headed wildling.”

“I took a trip there, I left a piece of me there.”

“What piece? Like some of your hair?”

“Stop it, I’m feeding your son.”

Sal’s Picks:

Spain

Netherlands

Group C:

Wifey’s Picks:

Columbia

Greece

So why no love for the Asians?

“I refuse to comment on this. I like our Asian friends and I would like to keep them…although we don’t have many Japanese friends…no, I’m not playing your game.”

Sal’s Picks:

Columbia

Greece

Group D:

Wifey’s Picks:

England

Italy

You made these picks quite quickly. If I told you Uruguay is ranked #6 in the world according to the all knowing Google…does that change your pick?

“No, Italy is where we had our honeymoon and England is as close to my Irish heritage as it gets.”

Sal’s Picks:

Uruguay

Italy

Group E:

Wifey’s Picks:

Ecuador

France

Do you not like Swiss Chocolates?

“I love chocolate you idiot. Are we talking about Chocolate or soccer?”

“It’s football honey.”

“Bye”

Sal’s Picks:

Switzerland

France

Group F:

Wifey’s Picks:

Argentina

Nigeria

I actually have no questions for you on these 2 picks. I’ll give you a breather here.

Sal’s Picks:

Argentina

Nigeria

Group G:

Wifey’s Picks:

USA

Portugal

Why so much love for Murrrrrrica?

“I’m just so used to Murrrrrrrrrrrrrrrica being good at any sporting event. Can I change my pick? You’re laughing at me…I just gave birth…don’t laugh at me!”

Sal’s Picks:

Portugal

Germany

Group H:

Wifey’s Picks:

Belgium

Russia

Again you ignore the Asians! Your son is half Asian. Represent!

“We done here or what? Your half white son needs a sponge bath.”

Sal’s Picks:

Belgium

Korea