Wifey’s World Cup Picks – Knockout Stage

Photo credit: AP

Photo credit: AP

The wife timed the birth of our first child perfectly so that I can stay home and watch the entire World Cup. She’s even showed a faint interest in some of the games. Especially with the British commentators and their use of adjectives: immaculate, deplorable, precocious, vas deferens-esque etc. Let’s see how wifey and I did with our picks from the group stage.

Wifey: 9-7

Sal: 12-4

Looks like my random guesses were a little better than the wife’s. Let’s see if she can redeem herself in the knockout stage.

Brazil vs Chile

Wifey’s pick: 

Chile

Sal’s pick:

Brazil

Ok I think you’re taking this love of Chile too far. What exactly happened during your trip to Chile?

“The people were so nice…really nice.”

Describe nice…

Sigh. “All you men are the same. Always thinking us women just hoe out on trips.”

Columbia vs Uruguay

Wifey’s pick:

Columbia

Sal’s pick:

Columbia

Is this pick because Uruguay’s best player is suspended due to being a cannibal?

“No. Wait, someone on that team tried to eat someone?”

Well kind of, he bit an opposing team’s player.

“I guess you could say he was hungry for the win? That’s good right?”

You win honey

Netherlands vs Mexico

Wifey’s pick:

Mexico

Sal’s pick:

Mexico

Not feeling De Dutch Pannekoeken?

“I’m going to keep riding this places I’ve travelled to thing. Arriba arriba” (ok, I added on that last bit)

Costa Rica vs Greece

Wifey’s pick:

Greece

Sal’s pick:

Greece

You like Cinderella right?

“Yeah, when I was 7 maybe.”

Well if I told you Costa Rica is the Cinderella of this tourney does that change your mind?

“You’re reaching a little too hard there honey.”

France vs Nigeria

Wifey’s pick:

France

Sal’s pick:

Nigeria

I see how you roll. You like these Euro teams huh? What’s up with that?

“I just took the first team that came out of your mouth. Maybe with the next match up I’ll take the 2nd team. Depends on how you say it…maybe try to do it with an accent next time.”

Germany vs Algeria

Wifey’s pick:

Germany

Sal’s pick:

Germany

I though you were going to pick the 2nd team out of my mouth this time? You didn’t even let me say the 2nd team and just grunted Germany right away.

“Unfortunately, there has been sports talk on everywhere since you are home all day everyday. I overheard some guy on the radio saying Germany looks the best so far.”

I’m so happy right now. You actually listened to some sports news. Ok, let’s not ruin this moment for me any longer…let’s move on quickly.

Argentina vs Switzerland

Wifey’s pick:

Switzerland?

Sal’s pick:

Argentina

WTF? You serious? We just went over the fact that you were listening to sports talk radio. Using British commentator language…this pick is a travesty.

“I listen to Sports talk radio about as good as you listen to me.”

Whoa…that cuts deep…so deep

Belgium vs USA

Wifey’s pick:

Belgium

Sal’s pick:

Belgium

What happened to your love of Amurrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrica?

“I wanted to pick them, but you made fun of me so much the last time I picked them.”

But they made it through, your pick of them was pure gold.

“Well I obviously got lucky last time so I don’t think I can get lucky twice.”

You have me and our baby boy…I say that’s getting lucky twice.

“Yeah…ok”