Wifey’s World Cup Picks: Quarterfinals

The World Cup is nearing its conclusion and the next round sets up some unreal match ups. Wifey and I blew chunks with our knockout stage picks, but really is there any surprise there? Here’s how we did in the knockout stage:

Wifey: 4-4

Sal: 5-3

and overall

Wifey: 13-11

Sal: 17-7

Let’s see if we can continue getting worse with our next set of picks.

France vs Germany

Wifey’s pick: 

Germany

Sal’s pick:

Germany

You just going to copy all my picks this round?

“You’re copying me.”

Plllease

“Plllease”

Child

Brazil vs Columbia

Wifey’s pick:

Brazil

Sal’s pick:

Columbia

Ok, so you’re not copying me after all. What gives here? You don’t like coffee or cocaine?

(blank stare)

Ok, forget stimulants, why Brazil?

“Why did you choose Columbia? You have some secret habit I don’t know about?”

(blank stare)

Moving on

James Rodriguez. Kid's going to be riiiiiiiiiich

James Rodriguez. Kid’s going to be riiiiiiiiiich

Argentina vs Belgium

Wifey’s pick:

Argentina

Sal’s pick:

Argentina

Picking against the Belgian waffles again eh? What’s up with that?

“Argentina has that Messi guy. He seems to always break other teams hearts by doing something spectacular in the last few minutes.”

Wow, hearing you talk about sports is kinda durrty. Not quite Christina Aguilera dirty, but definitely Jason Derulo dirty.

I'm going to break your ankles and then your heart

I’m going to break your ankles and then your heart

Netherlands vs Costa Rica

Wifey’s pick: 

Netherlands

Sal’s pick:

Netherlands

So we both picked against Cinderella last round and we’re doing it again here. I’m doing it because I think the clock has struck midnight and the amazing Costa Rican’s are due to turn into a pumpkin here against a team loaded with stars. What’s your rationale?

“Cinderella and I don’t jive. I’m more of an evil stepmother fan. Plus, those orange uni’s are sharp.”